My Majlis

It’s the inaugural blog post and I can feel the pressure building with each keystroke. My fingers are having trouble finding the keyboard.

come on Darla...you can do it...

come on Darla...you can do it...

The perspiration is building on my brow.  Maybe I need to check facebook again.

breathe deep Darla...breathe deep...

breathe deep Darla...breathe deep...

Is that my stomach growling?  I should probably go get something to eat.  Is there a marathon I can run in the balmy Dubai heat?  I’ll do anything to be distracted from writing right now!  Anything!

maybe I am needed to go pick apricots in the hills of Al Ayn...

maybe I am needed to go pick apricots in the hills of Al Ayn...

if you are really lucky your path has a handmade fence accent

Pull it together Darla.  This is why I am here after all.  “A multimedia platform studying food and agriculture, specifically the distribution and production in the contrasting locations of the deserts of the Middle East and the tropics of the Hawaiian Islands.”  Or that was the original focus, wasn’t it?  What I have come to realize now (only one week into my four months of travel) is that sometimes our studies find us even when we think we are on a solid path.

fields in Al Shirayjah, Oman

fields in Al Shirayjah, Oman

So, this summer and fall will be an fascinating ride.  Food will be our gateway into the exploration of diverse cultures, global media and alluring places…some sacred, some surreal, but all far from ordinary.

Livestock Souk (auction) in Nizwa, Oman

livestock souk in Nizwa, Oman

I will traipse through these two worlds (although sometimes it might seem that I am awkwardly tripping through them) to present unique and varied information for your consumption.  In the next four months, my humble goal is to deliver an abundant plate full of delicious media.

Bon voyage…I mean rḥlah sʿīdah.

13 Comments

  1. Sergei B. said,

    May 13, 2009 at 2:22 pm

    Darla,
    Are you traveling already? If so, wow, that was fast! I will most definitely be an avid follower of yours and read all your posts. Have fun exploring the world and please be safe, my dear. 🙂

  2. Mallory said,

    May 13, 2009 at 4:03 pm

    The site is so beautiful! I am so excited.

  3. Jenna said,

    May 13, 2009 at 8:30 pm

    This is going to be awesome…..

  4. Lew said,

    May 14, 2009 at 1:24 am

    Hi Darla,
    Nice photos. It’s so great to see what you are seeing. Can’t wait to see and read more.

  5. Abby said,

    May 14, 2009 at 4:48 am

    Hey Darla!
    I am excited to see you using your writing to discover new cultures. Being a journalism student now, I’m trying to explore my options.
    I look forward to reading
    love, your cuz Abby

  6. Susan said,

    May 14, 2009 at 6:10 pm

    Hi Honey,
    This is so awesome! I am going to read all the time. Have fun and safe travels my dear.

  7. Uncle Jack said,

    May 15, 2009 at 2:08 am

    You’re doing a Blog! What a great idea. I heard all the best writers do that, so now you are, no doubt, one of the best. Enjoy!

  8. Lisa said,

    May 15, 2009 at 7:49 pm

    Looks great…. we will be following your travels….

  9. Melanie said,

    May 16, 2009 at 1:04 pm

    This is so great Darla; beautiful!! Good job!

  10. Ginny Lippincott said,

    May 16, 2009 at 6:16 pm

    Darla,

    What an incredibly exciting time this is for you! You have such positive energy and deserve a worldly adventure!

    Ginny Lippincott

  11. Dad said,

    June 1, 2009 at 1:36 pm

    Wow!!!!! this is so incredible, beautiful photos. I will have to go to my email more than once a month, I will check it daily now. No machine gun photos?
    Love You
    Dad

  12. Lisa said,

    July 8, 2009 at 9:55 pm

    Hey Darla – this is from my dad (who has traveled the world himself) !

    Very interesting summary that was fact full. She is a talented and courageous young lady. Very few Americans would undertake her journey. The food might be good but not always beautiful. That was my experience from world wide travel. I always tried local cuisine; most was good but sometimes we cannot tolerate or our metabolism cannot. I would love to try Panchakarma; I need 2 to 3 weeks of same. Mom did read all and agreees with me. You can forward as you like .

  13. Dad said,

    July 19, 2009 at 9:30 am

    You go girl or daughter ! WHATS next ?
    Love you
    Dad


Leave a Reply

