Brain waving

SDS (aka Treads, Eats and Tunes) had so much planning going on this weekend.  It was basically 72 hours of straight strategy sessions.  Anyone need an hour of strategy?  ‘Cause we might have some left over to lend you.

Look for digests in the near future.  Or don’t, whatever.  (No, I’m just kidding…I tried to act tough there, but I do really miss you when you don’t check in with me).

The only thing this weekend was missing was a first date…god, I love first dates.  Good thing 3-D digital prints, snow, Zeus, a kick-ass mission statement and dancing until 3 am was all included otherwise it would be a complete wash.

I happened across some first dates rules recently (see, when I’m not on first dates, I’m reading about first dates) and I want to take this opportunity to debunk them.

1.) Keep It Short…so, if the date rocks and the jokes keep rolling and the bartender is cool and the food is good and…what?  Why keep it short?  How about just keep having fun…how about that?

2.) Keep it Simple…yeah, don’t confuse us…I’m mean, nothing like a simple-minded man to get the gears going.

3.) Keep it Inexpensive…really?  really?  I’m no gold-digger, but I don’t mind a man laying down some dough for a really fun first date.  I mean if you want to take me to drive a NASCAR at the Tom Petty Driving School, I’m down…and chances are you’ll get a second date and even better chances are that it will be REALLY fun.

4.) Keep it During the Weekdays (Sun-Thu)…no.  That’s all…just no.  A really good first date is on Friday or Saturday night, when you aren’t worried about office-musings tomorrow.  And, don’t invite someone out for tea on the first date…nothing good comes from a first date over tea.

5.) Keep it Light…true.  Okay, I agree with you there honey.

3 Comments

  1. tams said,

    December 7, 2009 at 10:42 pm

    darla, i gotta tell you… i sincerely love your blog!

  2. December 8, 2009 at 2:37 am

    thanks for the tips 🙂

  3. December 31, 2009 at 2:13 am

    […] first dates.  i can’t help it.  i’m a serial first dater. […]


Leave a Reply

