god bless the Marines

Two emails in 24 hours that have me skipping around the city of Philadelphia like a damn fool.

This one came in at 3 pm yesterday from my editor at the Daily News:

We can PAY you to write the New Year’s Eve story!!  Since you will no longer be an intern by then.

Did you read that?!  Pay me!  It’s not the money that is so important.  Don’t get me wrong, money is swell, but it’s the fact that I will now officially be a paid writer.  Don’t quote me here, but I think I might just be becoming a grown-up.

And this one came in at 11 am this morning:

Congratulations! Your pattern design of “A lump of coal” for Naughty or Nice GayBINGO! has been chosen.

Perhaps I need to explain that one a little.  Last month when Amy, Abby and Annie (yes, I only choose friends with “A” names) accompanied me to Gay Bingo I filled out a suggestion for a pattern to fit the “Naughty or Nice” theme this month.  My clever little design was a lump of coal.  Take a moment with that ’cause it’s super clever…

So I not only get a free ticket to the December 19 extravaganza, but I also get to watch as everyone dabs my lump of coal…wait, that didn’t come out right at all.

Just in case I didn’t convey how excited I am by this whole thing, Amy’s email sums it all up: Woo hoo!  So much fun, I think I might explode! ! !


1 Comment

  1. March 1, 2010 at 1:04 am

    […] only one yolk – it doesn’t matter how many whites you use (unless you are cooking for the entire Marine Corps in which case you may need a few more yolks – and some back-up).  It improves flavor and […]


Leave a Reply

