Breakfast

I trained with Zeus at 9:30…nothing makes you want to eat well and be in shape than a hottie making sure you are in alignment as you bang out a set of bent over rows.  “I’m sorry, where does my knee need to go?”  “Can you show me again how to tuck my ribs?”  “Any chance I could see that movement better if you removed your shirt?”


Before training I drank water.  After training I drank water…okay, and a tiny bowl of rice pasta (gluten-free and mighty tasty!) with a leftover sauce from last night.  Here’s the recipe:

Start with a jar of Patsy’s sauce (from the best pizzeria in NYC).  Add to it eggplant, Portobello and Mango Chicken Sausage (thank you Trader Joe’s) that have been sautéed in a sage brown butter sauce.  How do you make a sage brown butter sauce?  Easy.  Brown some butter in a cast iron pan.  Add sage that is wilting away in your ‘fridge (can anyone out there tell me if I should not be keeping sage in my ‘fridge – is it like basil – do I keep it in a drawer?).  After everything is nice and aromatic and crispy, set the leaves aside and throw the stems out.  Now sauté the sausage, eggplant and mushrooms in the butter in small batches and then add it to the Patsy’s sauce.  Add some parmesan, oil olive and salt and pepper if needed.  The sauce should be super chunky and should turn a beautiful burnt rust color.

Damn it…Zeus just walked in (he’s training with a friend of mine at the workout studio next door) and caught me with an empty bowl obviously stained with olive oil and butter…hmm…I don’t think that’s part of the training regimen.  Actually, that’s not true.  He has given me great advice on eating (’cause let’s face it…we all need advice on eating).  Here are two of Zeus’ rules:

1. If you indulge (and you should indulge sometimes) enjoy the food while you eat it, because it’s not going to do your body any good to be stressed out while you are eating a piece of chocolate cake.


2. Portion control.  Measure what you eat when you can.  If you can’t do that – like when you are eating out – take 1/3 of what’s on your plate and set it aside.  Take it home and have it for lunch tomorrow.


Stayed tuned…

Leave a Reply

